About UGA Rugby

Founded in 1967, the UGA Rugby Football Club (UGARFC) is the oldest club sport at the University of Georgia. It was originally founded as a USA Rugby mens club, and competed against local and regional universities (Georgia Tech, Tennessee, Georgia Southern, etc.) as well as mens clubs (such as the Atlanta Renegades and Atlanta Old White). This meant that anybody who wanted to play with the club - UGA student or otherwise - was able to join. Around the year 2000, the team officially became a collegiate club, therefore becoming bound to University eligibility rules.

The club currently primarily competes in the Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference (SCRC), a USA Rugby Men's Division 1 Collegiate Rugby Conference. The SCRC is comprised of other collegiate teams in the SEC, including Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M, and Vanderbilt. In addition, competitive and social matches are routinely scheduled against other colleges and mens clubs.

The club has enjoyed a tradition of success throughout its history. The club has also produced numerous individual all-stars, including regional standouts as well as and national All-Americans. Click HERE for a list of some of our more notable player accomplishments!

The club plays rugby matches virtually year-round! Historically, traditional 15s rugby was played from the beginning of Fall through the end of Spring, with Sevens being played in the Summer...however, collegiate rugby has changed recently, and now they play 15s in the Fall and Sevens in the Spring/Summer.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions!